NEWS PRODUCTION

Week Six

I had a productive week this week! I redid all three of my interviews (after my disaster last week). I went through and transcribed all of the interviews.

For short interviews, I feel it’s necessary to transcribe. However, Alysen believes that when you’re working with a deadline it’s not necessary to transcribe the entire interview (Alysen, 2012). Only do so for the soundbites you are planning to use (Alysen, 2012).Capture.JPG

After that I did process of elimination, highlighting stand out quotes to include in my story.  I was lucky enough to capture even more raw emotion this time round. I feel like it really draws attention to the issue of lack of awareness about disabilities, and how it affects those who live with a disability, and their family. Eventually, I finished the story which you can read in the link below. I am proud of this story. While it’s a heart-warming tale of success, it shines a light on the issues many people living with autism face on a daily basis. Lamble speaks of how the most valued aim of a journalist is to uncover and report the truth (Lamble, 2011).

MORE: Big Dreams For A Little Soul

References:

Alysen, B. (2012). The electronic reporter (pp. 84). Sydney: University of New South Wales Press.

Lamble, S. (2011). News as it happens (p. 20). Australia: Oxford University Press.

*All images used are labelled for reuse.

Leave a Reply

