TV JOURNALISM

Week Ten

This week in class we spent time doing a practise run of the studio presentations each group is expected to do. I’ll talk about the script, studio roles and process in Week Eleven and Week Twelve.icon128-2x.png

For this blog I’m going to discuss the editing process of my video news story using Final Cut Pro X.

Alysen highlights that while technology has changed over time, the processes of video editing has stayed much the same (Alysen, 2012). Her example on page 196, figures 12.1 and 12.2 helped me understand the overlaying of video and audio.

Here is the step by step process I took:
→ Insert SD card into Mac.
→ Open Final Cut Pro X.
→ Setting up your project:
This is an important step to ensure you don’t lose any of your files.
→ Select ‘file’ and ‘new library’.
→ Select external hard drive as the destination for a ‘new library’ and name it.
→ Then select ‘file’ and ‘new event’, and save it in the library just created.
→ Then select ‘file’ and ‘new project’, and save it in the event just created.
→ Select ‘file’ and ‘import’, then select ‘media’.
→ Be sure to import all footage and audio voice overs.
→ I had already skimmed through my interviews to choose the quotes I wanted to include. All I had to do next was insert the interview media into the timeline and beginning cutting the grabs I wanted to keep, and deleting the rest.
→ I had also pre planned which vision I would use for my voice overs, so I repeated the above step.
→ With all my media, I made sure the audio settings were ‘dual mono’. The audio also needs to be in between levels -12 and 6.
→ Then I began inserting my voice over vision.
→ I split the audio from the vision, because all I needed was the audio.
→ I deleted the vision.
→ Then I placed the audio voice overs on top of my selected vision.
→ After I tweaked with all my vision and audio I was ready to insert title graphics.
→ I chose a red news themed graphic, and only had it showing for a couple of seconds to introduce each source. I finished up with using the same graphic to show a link to where people can find more information about type one diabetes.
→ Once I was ready to export, I followed the process Chris instructed us with.
→ Set and ‘in’ and ‘out’ point for the program.
→ Select ‘file’, ‘share’ then select ‘Apple Devices 720p’.
→ I then needed to change the ‘after export’ setting to ‘open with quick time’.
→ Once this was exported and saved onto my SD card, I then uploaded it to YouTube.

Alysen says that you have to be selective in the material you choose, and quite often you won’t be able to include all the information you would like (Alsyen, 2012). This is definitely a complication I struggled with. I had so much information from my talents, so I had a hard time deciding what to include. I’m sure over time and with lots of practise, it will become second nature.

 

Image via: iTunesApple, feature image
References:
The Electronic Reporter – Barbara Alysen, 2012,

One thought on “Week Ten

Leave a Reply

